My Princess Devotions Preschool Edition


Having two girls (currently 6 and 4), I am always looking for good books that I can use with them to build scriptural knowledge and invest in their faith development, so when I was given the opportunity to review the One Year My Princess Devotions Preschool Edition I was excited to have another tool in my tool box.  Unfortunately, the book didn’t live up to my (or my daughter’s) expectations.

Divided into 365 daily readings, the book selects a single verse, assigns, it a topic, then presents what it calls “Princess Thoughts”, a prayer, and a conclusion referred to as “Princess in Action.”  Overall, though, the thoughts, prayer, and action sections are short and shallow – even for pre-schoolers, each section ranging in length from just a single sentence to perhaps as many as four sentences.  But there is no context given for the verse, and little effort is made to tell the story of scripture.  If you’re looking for a devotional to use with your kids, this leaves much to be desired.  While it may supplement other training you do, I certainly can not recommend it to stand on its own.  I’ll keep it on my shelf and use it more for topical issues as they arise, but other than that it’s not something I will regularly pull down to use and, more tellingly, it’s not something my girls run to and get when it’s time for devotions.

978-1-4143-6905-1Overall, I’ll give this book a 2/5 stars.  For the record, I did receive a complementary copy of the book from the publisher in exchange for an honest, though not necessarily favorable, review.

Leave a Reply

