The Reichenbach Problem


I have always enjoyed Sherlock Holmes – one of my most prized books is The Complete Sherlock Holmes in facsimile of the original Strand publications given to me by my sister when I was a teenager.  I’ve also enjoyed the TV and movie adaptations, including the modern BBC rendition Sherlock starring Gavin Cutterbatch.  So when I saw this book appear in my blog tour listings I was intrigued to see what Martin Allison Booth could do.

Granted, the book is not about Holmes, and that was clear when I first signed-up to be a part of the tour.  Instead, The Reichenbach Problem tells a fictitious story of Homles’ creator Arthur Conan Doyle.  It begins while Conan Doyle is on vacation in Switzerland, trying to escape the fame of being a well-known author.  He is unable to find the rest or anonymity he craves, though, and soon gets thrown into a murder investigation himself. 

In addition to reading the book because of the mystery component and its connection with Holmes, I was also excited because it was the first of a three-part trilogy – and I love getting into things at the beginning.  Unfortunately, I was sorely disappointed.  The book was slow to read (really slow) – to use the phrase “it was a yawner” is an understatement.  I do plenty of reading late at night and during the day time (being in school and all), but this one consistently put me to sleep (literally).  I just couldn’t get into it – and it seemed like the even though I would keep turning pages I never got anywhere (in the book or in the story).  Needless to say, I will not be reading the second two books in the series (assuming they even get published).  This is not a book I would recommend and I’m giving it only 1/5 stars.

17434564For the record, I did receive a free copy of the book from the publishers in exchange for an honest (though not necessarily favorable) review.

Leave a Reply

