40 Days of Grace


Where the previous devotional I read fell flat on it’s face, 40 Days of Grace blew me out of the water.  Here was a book that every time I opened it I was brought face to face with my risen savior and my own unworthiness as a man, reminding and refocusing me on the grace of God found in Christ.  I found the book challenging, inspiring, convicting, and encouraging all at once.

The daily readings averaged probably 4-5 pages each, comprising of some teaching (sometimes in the form of a story), scripture, a question to meditate on, and a daily prayer.  My wife and I have been going through the book together and it has sparked many conversations every morning – conversations that often times we need to end not because we run out of something to say but because I’ve got work to get to!  The message of the book focuses us squarely on God and his grace, leading us to respond to Him in worship and submission.  And isn’t that what a good book should do?  Show us Jesus and allow us to respond?  If you are looking for a devotional that will challenge and inspire, this is the one.  I give this book an enthusiastic 5/5 stars.

9780857214430For the record, I received a free ecopy of this book from the publisher in exchange for an honest (though not necessarily favorable) review.

One thought on “40 Days of Grace

  1. Pingback: Daily Devotionals, October 7, 2013 | The Eternal Life Series

Leave a Reply

