Limitless


Limitless was actually a title that I had tried multiple times to get my hands on for a review copy, so when I finally did I was ecstatic.  I had heard much about Nick Vujicic, the man born without arms or legs who has been used by God to reach literally thousands of people; I had heard about his strong testimony, his incredible faith, and his ability to inspire and encourage people, so when the devotional came I told my wife about it and we set out reading it together.

But I’m not sure I could have been more disappointed in the book.  Some people may say that my expectations were too high, but it wasn’t my expectations for the book in general that weren’t met but rather my expectations for his theology that disappointed me.  Throughout the devotional we kept reading about what Nick had done – not what Jesus had done.  Granted, he referenced God, and every chapter started with a Bible verse.  But that was it.  After every day’s reading my wife and I would look at each other and say, “Really?  That’s it?”

Nick’s basic message (that we heard) seemed to be, “If you believe hard enough in your self then you can do anything.”  Not once did we ever get the message, “I can do all things through Christ, who strengthens me.”  Rather, we heard, “I can do all things.”  We weren’t directed towards trusting more in God, or even the prosperity-gospel message of “Just have more faith and it will be okay.”  No, we were just told to believe in ourselves, have more confidence in our ability, and everything will work out just fine.  It was, in short, a watered-down message of self-help and positive thoughts void of any real reference to a risen savior.

And I guess that’s why I was so disappointed.  I haven’t read his other books, nor have I heard him speak, but I’d like to give Nick the benefit of the doubt here and say that we just misunderstood him.  Unfortunately, in a review I don’t have that freedom.  There are books that after I read I put on my shelf to keep, there are others I share with friends because they are that powerful, there are those I donate to church libraries because even though I may not want to keep them they are worth passing on, and then there are those books that, honestly, after I read them go straight in the garbage because I refuse to keep them and I refuse to pass them on.  This book falls into that last category – I can not in good faith recommend it to anyone who wants to draw nearer to Jesus.  So, I’ll give it 1/5 stars, mainly for bad theology.

For the record, I received a free copy of this book from the publisher in return for an honest (though not necessarily favorable) review.

2 thoughts on “Limitless

  1. Pingback: 40 Days of Grace | Thomas R Feller, Jr.

Leave a Reply

