Angelguard


Okay, I admit, when I first saw the book trailer I was both intrigued and a little nervous.  Here was a book about the supernatural.  I’ll be honest and just say I grew up reading Frank Peretti’s Darkness novels, some of my favorite books when I was younger, and I was excited to read something about the supernatural and also somewhat hesitant because I wasn’t sure what to expect.

But I’m glad to say that I was not disappointed.  On the contrary, for whatever reason my expectations weren’t that high, but Ian Acheson’s Angelguard simply blew me away (no pun intended!)  The book , from the very first pages, grabbed my interest and it never let go.  I found myself able to identify with the characters, able to see the supernatural battles that Ian portrayed, and, all-in-all, I just had fun reading the book – I couldn’t put it down.  Most of my reading right now is for school, and the vast majority of my reviews are for non-fiction works.  Angelguard was the exception – and boy was it worth it!  It allowed me to escape into my imagination like no book has in a very long time, and simply enjoy a great story.

The story begins with three devastating explosions in cities across the globe (London, Sydney, and LA), and it never slows down.  Throughout the book we read basically two parallel stories – the story of the humans and the story of the angels and demons – and we see how the two intersect, observing both how the supernatural interacts (and interjects) into the natural, and how the natural interjects (and interacts) with the spiritual.  Granted, you have to remember you’re not reading a theological work on spiritual warfare but rather one author’s dramatization, but I don’t think it’s that difficult to draw that line.

9781782640028

It’s always difficult to read a fictional account of something that is real like this; I remember when Peretti’s novels were all the rage there was also this tendency to see “demons around every corner”, and so I didn’t want that to happen to me when I read this book.  At the same time, I know that there are spiritual forces out there at work – we live in a world at war whether we acknowledge it or not, and, for those of us who are followers of Jesus, we are caught in the middle of it (though we are on the winning side).  We can’t see it, but it’s real.  We can’t necessarily feel it, but it’s real.  And we have a part to play.  Angelguard focuses in on this reality in a modern way.  Suffice it to say I can’t wait to read the next one in the series (whenever it comes out!).

Overall, I’m giving this book 4/5 stars.  If you want to have a good read, particularly this summer when you’re at the beach or in the mountains on vacation, put this one on your reading list – you won’t be disappointed.

Here’s the official book trailer, and if you’d like to read the first chapter, click this link.  I think you’ll find yourself wanting to get the book and read the rest!

If you’d like to read an interview with Ian Acheson, the author of Angelguard, please click here (for Part I) and here (for Part II) of an interview he agreed to do just for my blog.

And, yes, for the record, I did receive a free copy of the book from the publisher in exchange for an honest (though not necessarily favorable) review.

2 thoughts on “Angelguard

  1. Tom, I’m pleased you enjoyed Angelguard. Thank you for this generous review & for allowing me to spend 3 days on TFj.com.

    Blessings to you.

    Ian

Leave a Reply

