Rest


This past week was spring break from my classes (not work but school), and I made a conscious decision to not do any homework.  Now in all honesty that means I’m feeling a little behind right now, with a take-home mid-term, paper, and several chapters of reading due on Thursday, but I needed the break – we all did.  I was able to hang out with Melissa and just snuggle on the couch, play with the girls, and even take a nap.  It was….well, restful.

Deeply Loved Cover

As I’m working through Deeply Loved by Kerri Wyatt Kent I’ve been meditating all week on one particular chapter (I read it Tuesday): Hurry.  (This is actually post #2 on the book, so to read #1 click here)  The thing I loved about this particular chapter is that she acknowledged the busyness of life without making me feel guilty for it, though she did challenge me to evaluate it and reflect on it differently.  She shared the following metaphor from a friend who was busy.  The metaphor compared our lives to a jar of river water all shaken up.  She commented that we need to “sit still long enough that the sediment can settle and the water can become clear.”  Wyatt goes on,

[This} is what the jar of water teachers us.  We must be willing to show up, and be still – and let [God] work.  Just letting go of control – to stop trying so hard – is, ironically, the hardest thing to do.

She draws a distinction between “busy” and “hurry” that I’ve never before contemplated, but which has given me pause this week to consider.  Busy, she writes, is an “outward reality – what we do”; it’s what I feel sometimes at work.  But “hurry is an inner reality – how we think, the angst we feel when we are overwhelmed by obligations or by trying to adapt to rapid change.”  She challenged me to settle down, to become less hurried, by stopping the multi-tasking effort and focusing on what is most important right now.  This particularly struck a chord with me because I realize that when I become most stressed, particularly at work, it’s when I feel I’m doing too many things at once (it’s why emails sometimes only get half-read).  And I’ve been really trying lately to be more focused, to only do one thing at once rather than 10, and this chapter reinforced that to me.  She wrote that “Hurry has become a mindless habit.  We’ve said yes to everything but serenity.”

So this week I chose to rest, to try and practice serenity, to allow God to refresh and refill me.  I’ve got plenty to do this coming week, but now I’m feeling that I’ll be able to do it – one step at a time.

4 thoughts on “Rest

  1. Thomas, thank you for a thoughtful review of the chapter. I hope your week was refreshing, and I also pray that as you go back to your school work, you have renewed energy and joy!

  2. Pingback: Serving | Thomas R Feller, Jr.

Leave a Reply

