Book Review: Why Jesus by Ravi Zacharias


As excited was I was about reading Why Jesus, partly because I’ve never read anything by Dr. Zacharias and partly because of the content of the book, I ended up completely under-whelmed by it.  I’ve listed to Dr. Zacharias teaching for years and found his insights both profound and thought-provoking, but reading him was a completely different matter.  I knew he was intellectual and I expected a book that required great amounts of focus to comprehend and appreciate, but overall I found his writing boring and as if I was following a rabbit-trail in order to get to his point.

The book’s subtitle is “Rediscovering His Truth in an Age of Mass Marketed Spirituality”, which made me expect a point-by-point defense of Jesus against arguments raised by today’s culture.  Instead, the book spent more time explaining the backgrounds of various beliefs and philosophies before countering them with the truth of scripture.  Don’t get me wrong, it’s not that truth wasn’t presented and defended, it’s just that it felt like as much of the book focused on telling me about the historical context to lies rather than focusing on the truths that stand in contrast to them.

Overall I’ll give the book 3/5 stars.  For the record, I did receive a free copy of the book from the publisher in exchange for an honest, and not necessarily favorable, review.

Leave a Reply

