Book Review: Earthen Vessels by Matthew Lee Anderson


This was not one of the easier books I have ever read – in fact, I’ve been at it for months.  To be honest, I just couldn’t get into it.  I ordered the book at the beginning of the year thinking that it was going to be about how we need to take care of our bodies – you know, eat healthy, exercise, etc – and how that was one way in which to honor God (with our bodies).  But it wasn’t.  The book was really more about laying out what I’ll call the theology of the body – addressing some of the false doctrines that remain from the period of the Gnostics (the whole “flesh is bad” thing).  Honestly, what I was looking for was Every Body Matters by Gary Thomas – a book I ordered at the same time and reviewed back in February.  What I got was significantly more academic than I desired, and the focus wasn’t what I was anticipating.  Perhaps that my fault for misunderstanding what was written about the book in its description, but either way I never could get into this book.

I’ll give it 2/5 stars.  For the record, yes I received a free copy of the book from the publisher in exchange for an honest (though not necessarily favorable) review.

Leave a Reply

