My Prayer


I’ve been reading a new translation called The Voice lately (I was selected to receive a preview copy awhile back and so I’ll be posting a review soon).  Anyway, as I was reading Ephesians (one of my favorite books), I was reminded of two prayers Paul prayed for the believers in the first century.  I’ve always read these and been challenged to pray them for believers I know and pray for, but recently I felt the Lord challenging me to pray them for myself.  So below I list what I’ve been praying the last week or so – reworded into first person.  This is just one of those short blog posts that I hope inspires and blesses you…

God of my Lord Jesus the Anointed, Father of Glory: I call out to You.  Give me a mind ready to receive wisdom and revelation so that I will truly know You.  Open the eyes of my heart, and let the light of Your truth flood in.  Shine Your light on the hope you are calling me to embrace.  Reveal to me the glorious riches you are preparing as my inheritance.  Let me see the full extent of your power that is at work in me, and may it be done according to Your might and power.  (Eph 1:17-19a)

Father, out of Your honorable and glorious riches, strengthen me.  Fill my soul with the power of Your Spirit so that through faith the Anointed One will reside in my heart.  May love be the rich soil where my life takes root.  May it be the bedrock where my life is founded so together that with all of Your people I will have the power to understand that the love of the Anointed is infinitely long, wide, high, and deep, surpassing everything anyone previously experienced.  God, may Your fulness flood through my entire being. (Eph 3:16-19)

Amen.

In church the last three weeks I’ve been hearing a lot about “becoming more like Jesus.”  I think that if these two prayers were to be realized in my life then I’d have made a major step into being more like Jesus and being able to share him.  So, I invite you to, at the very least, pray these prayers for me (just substitute “Tom” where ever it says “I” :)).  And, if you’re willing, pray them for yourself as well.  If you’re willing to do that, consider responding to this post with a comment so I can also pray for you.  God promised in Isaiah, “I send [out my word] and it always produces fruit.  It will accomplish all I want it to, and it will prosper everywhere I send it.” (Is 55:11), so we can be confident that as we pray these scriptures they will be answered.

One thought on “My Prayer

  1. Pingback: Book Review: The Voice New Testament | Thomas R Feller, Jr.

Leave a Reply

