Book Review: Behind the Veils of Yemen by Audra Grace Shelby


Behind the Veils of Yemen offers a glimpse of Islamic culture through the eyes of a Christian missionary living in Yemen.  It begins with a husband and wife struggling with the call to the mission field – husband and wife with three kids, one still a baby.  Shelby shares the story of their call as well as the struggles she faces throughout their appointment in Yemen.

One of the best parts of reading this book was learning so much about Islamic religious culture in the Middle East.  I have to say I was actually very surprised over the amount of what I would consider superstition the followers of Islam hold.  It was also refreshing to read the struggles held by this woman of God, sometimes even questioning her faith.

When rating a book I have to consider it from multiple angles – one is how much I just enjoy the book (see my previous post if you want a review of a book I didn’t like to read!).  But another is the impact it has on my life – does it lead to authentic change in how I live, or at the very least how it affects my view of the world.  Behind the Veils of Yemen exceeded my expectations on both fronts – not only was it absolutely riveting to read (I struggled to put it down), but it deepened and strengthened my understanding that sharing Jesus with the unsaved is important work.  In this case it took me back to what I experienced when I read Radical.  I came away from this book with a renewed desire to see Jesus shared with the people of – and asking myself what it is I can do to impact more people for Christ.

I’ll give this book 4.5/5 stars and I believe it’s one of those books every Christian should read.  For the record, I received a free copy of this book from the publisher in return for an honest (though not necessarily favorable) review.

3 thoughts on “Book Review: Behind the Veils of Yemen by Audra Grace Shelby

  1. Pingback: Best Books for 2011 « Thomas R Feller, Jr.

  2. Pingback: Bethany House Memoir Mini-Reviews | — The Parchment Girl

  3. Pingback: Bethany House Memoir Mini-Reviews | — The Parchment Girl

Leave a Reply

