Book Review: Max on Life by Max Lucado


Max Lucado is one of my favorite authors in large part because of his down-to-Earth writing style.  This book, however, left me disappointed.  The book is a collection of questions people have asked Max Lucado and his written responses to them.  What disappointed me, though, was that many of the answers seemed over-simplified: people who wrote about struggling with great loss were given almost short, Sunday School answers.  While I understand that dealing with sorrow really is as simple as trusting Jesus, sometimes I need help in understanding what trusting Jesus looks like – and that’s where this book fell short.  The answers were all very “Christian sounding”, if you understand what I mean by that.  Not that they were wrong – Max’s theology is right on throughout the book – but they were, well, just simple.

For those who don’t require or expect in-depth analysis of issues then this book is for you, but for those who are skeptics I have a hard time believing anything in this book would change your opinion of God and how he works.  It may work to reaffirm the faith of the faithful, but I doubt the answers given will suffice for those who honestly struggle.  I know, I know – sometimes we make issues too difficult and deep – but we also, often, make them too simple.  The book was a great reminder to me that life is more basic and straight-forward than I want to make it out to be, but it also left me yearning for more explanations and answers though none were given.

I’ll graciously give this book 2 out of 5 stars.

I received this book free from the publisher through the BookSneeze.com book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255

Leave a Reply

