Good ol' Times


This afternoon when I got home from work I took the girls out back to play on the swing set. Chloe loves the slide, but yesterday she discovered she can actually hold on and stay on the swing while I push it, so tonight she wanted to swing “super fast” (just like Rocket goes super fast in Little Einsteins). So for a solid 15-20 minutes I pushed her in the swing (and Celeste in the baby swing). She kept saying over and over, “This is so fun Daddy! Are you having fun? I’m having so fun!” to which I would reply, “Yes, sweetie, I’m having so much fun, too!”

The special part of the playing, though, was that for about 5-10 minutes of the time I was pushing her she was just talking to me and telling me about her day today and yesterday. Last night both Melissa and I had something to do (rare for a Sunday night), so one of our regular baby sitters was here to put Chloe to bed. Chloe told me about how they had played outside in her club house, how the baby sitter had pushed her in the swing, how she cut her a piece of cake, and how she put her to bed. On and on the list went – she just wanted to share everything with me. And she was always saying, “Daddy, I have something to tell you.” So, of course, I’d say, “What is that, sweetie?”

It’s just nice to have her talk to me like that. As Celeste gets older hopefully it will happen with her, but I enjoy these Daddy-daughter times where she shares what’s on her mind with me. I only pray that as she grows old they don’t stop.

Leave a Reply

