A Daddy Date to Sonic and a Baby that Hums


Chloe’s been asking to go on another date for the past week, so I promised her that on Wednesday night I’d take her on a date. So all day yesterday she was asking when we’d go on our date and kept telling Melissa that she and I were going out last night. After we all came home from a picnic dinner at the park I put Celeste to bed and then asked Chloe, “Are you ready to go on our date?” She said yes, so I told her to go into the living room so I could put her shoes on.

Melissa was actually working with some students in the music room and another student was sitting on the couch in the living room. While I was walking into the room the girl must have asked Chloe something because Chloe said (in that matter-of-fact-2-and-a-half-year-old-voice), “No, I’m going on a date with my Daddy.”

That just made my evening 🙂 (for the record, we went to Sonic for ice cream and play time in their play ground – Chloe kept putting sand on the bottom of the slide and then going down in to push the sand off (that and we also had to race down the slides that are next to each other))

The other “Daddy moment” that made my day was putting Celeste to bed. She’s actually done this two nights in a row, so I’m thinking it might now be coincidence. Celeste is NOT a rocker by any stretch of the imagination (Chloe was, but not Celeste). Last night while I was feeding her the last bottle of the day we rocked and I read her stories (like we always do), then when she was done I turned her on her side on my chest and she snuggled in and starting making these noises that sounded like humming. I wish I could describe them to you, but it was like she was laying on my chest as we rocked humming herself to sleep. She did this for a few minutes before I put her in her crib.

I’m enjoying spring break 🙂

Leave a Reply

