Orange Walls


Okay, I have to record this before it leaves my memory… Tonight, after we finished reading bedtime stories and praying I was laying in bed with Chloe having one of those strange conversations you have with two year olds…

“Daddy, we have to paint my walls orange.”

“Uh, no, let’s leave them green.”

“Okay, we need to take the green off and paint them orange.”

“No, I think we’ll leave them green.”

“Okay, we need to paint them orange. We need to get blue and yellow and black and purple and brown and mix them all up and then paint them orange.”

“No, I think we’ll leave them green.”

“Okay, how about we take the green off and paint them orange?”

“No, I think we’ll leave them green.”

“Okay. First we need to leave them green. Then we need to paint them orange.”

“No, I think we’ll leave them green.”

“Okay” (getting a little frustrated) “We’ll take some scissors and cut the green off the wall” (while she makes the scissors-cutting motion with her fingers) “and then we’ll save the green and paint the wall orange.”

“So we’re going to cut the green off the wall with scissors?”

“No, Daddy, we’re going to use the scissors to cut hair.”

“Hair? Who’s hair?”

“The wall’s.”

“The wall has hair?”

“Just a little bit. So we’ll cut the hair off the wall and cut the green off the wall and then paint the wall green.”

“No, I think we’ll leave the walls green.”

“Okay, so we’ll leave the green. Then after we cut the green off the wall with the scissors and paint the wall orange.”

“I thought we were cutting the hair off the wall, Chloe”

“No, Daddy, walls don’t have hair. We cut off the green then paint the wall orange.”

“Good night, Chloe, Daddy has to go now. I love you.”

“Okay, we’ll paint the wall orange…. Daddy, I want to rock.”

“Okay, we’ll rock”

At this point the conversation was over, and we rocked for one song (which means we swayed) and then I put her back in her bed and left the room… I have no idea where the orange came from, but apparently she wants her walls orange now (I am not making this up – we really did have this conversation!)

Leave a Reply

