A Sweet Memory


It is late at night, but I know if I do not write this I will forget it, and part of the purpose of this blog is to remember these types of things.

This evening I went to a Good Friday service at my friend’s church. Unfortunately, because of the time of the service, Melissa and the girls had to stay home. I got home about 9:00pm and Melissa told me she had just finished putting Chloe to bed (it was a late night), and that she would probably love to see me.

So after I changed out of my clothes I slipped into Chloe’s room. As I approached the bed Chloe sat up, smiled from ear-to-ear, and said, “Daddy!” She then said, “Please lay in my bed.” I asked her if she’d like to rock, she said yes and stood up, so I picked her up and we rocked for about 4 minutes (rocking now, since the rocking chair has moved to Celeste’s nursery, consists of me holding her and swaying as she puts her head on my shoulder to go to sleep). After I put her in her bed she again asked, “Daddy, please lay in my bed.” So I told her I’d snuggle with her for just a few minutes. She got all excited and immediately moved over. As I lay down she said, “Thanks, Daddy.” I said, “Thanks for what Chloe?” And she said, “For laying in my bed and making room for me.”

Then she curled up, stuck her fingers in her mouth, and went to sleep. I left a few minutes later, after I gave her a kiss and told her, “Good night, I love you.”

I know I’ve said it many times before, but bedtime really is one of my favorite times of the day. It’s been my time with Chloe since she was very, very young. While some nights she pushes the envelope and I don’t spend much time in there, others (like tonight) she is very sweet and loving. It was one of those moments where I think to myself (and pray thanks to God), “This is what I love about being a Daddy.”

For the record, Melissa did a fantastic job today organizing an Easter Egg Hunt for lots of Chloe’s friends (and for Chloe, too). When I got home there must have been 35-40 people all running around our yard getting ready to find the 550+ eggs. Chloe ran up to the car and yelled, “Daddy! There are all sorts of kids!” Then she turned and ran back to play with them 🙂

Leave a Reply

