Playtime at the Park


One of my favorite things to do is play with my girls. Yesterday Chloe woke up from her nap and we decided to walk across the street to the park. When we first got there Chloe wanted to swing, so she sat in the swing for a good 10 minutes while I pushed her. Then we ran up and down the hill that goes into the “woods” and after that she said, “Chase me, Daddy, chase me!” So I chased her – up the side, down the slide, over the rock wall, across the playground, under the rock wall, up the slide, down the slide… Until it was time to go.

Then we had to “both run” home, so she ran next to me…. She just had a grin from ear-to-ear the entire time we were there and when we got home.

Today when I got home from work she wanted to color, so we sat at the kitchen table and she colored while I fed Celeste and Melissa taught a piano lesson. We sat there for almost an hour while she colored her pictures “for Mommy” (she told me), and then it was time for dinner.

Okay, so there is a point to this (besides just talking about how much I love to play with my girls). I was thinking about how the closest translation to “Abba Father” (the name God tells us to call him) is “Daddy” (at least that’s what I’m told. I also think about Mark Driscoll’s comments that to understand what it means to pray we need to just picture how a little child talks to their daddy… It makes me not only reflect on how I’m modeling the Heavenly Daddy to my girls, but, more personally, whether I view God through this lens very often…. It’s always easy to talk to God when things are rough, and, if I remember, it’s easy to talk to God when things are good. But how often do I just hang-out with Him? How often do I spend time with my Daddy? If I love it when my girls spend time with me (and Celeste is just learning to say “Da-da” and associate it with me), how much more does my Heavenly Father love spending time with me?

One of the highlights of my day today was just sitting in the rocker talking with Chloe…. I would like to think God says the same about me (when I bother to show up)…

Leave a Reply

