Jesus Loves Me


This just made my day… Chloe is very afraid of trains, mainly because of the loud noise they make. Unfortunately, we live less than one block from a major train line in Greenville. Every night the train comes by at around 7:45/8:00 and blows it’s horn for 10-15 minutes (we can hear it as it gets further away).

Since Chloe’s been old enough to be in her “big girl bed” she’s really struggled with sleeping through the train whistle. Tonight was no exception. She had just gone down to sleep when the train came by and started blowing. Next thing I heard was crying and “I want my daddy”. I went back and got in her bed with her and held her. She said, “I don’t want the train to come in my house.” So I said, “Chloe, where do trains stay?” And she replied, “On the tracks.” So I said, “That’s right, which means that can’t come into our house.”

As I held her she said, “I want more lullaby” (she has a lullaby CD), and then she said the three most wonderful words: “Jesus loves me.”

See, we’ve been teaching her for her entire life that Jesus loves her. When she first struggled with this fear we would pray to Jesus (and we still do) and remind her that “Jesus loves you, sweetie. You don’t need to be scared of that train.” But tonight, before I could even say, “Let’s pray” she was saying (as if to comfort herself and remind herself of the truth of it), “Jesus loves me.”

So I said, “That’s right, sweetie – Jesus loves you. Do you know that song? It’s a good song.” And I sang “Jesus Loves Me” to her while she laid next to me in her bed. When it was all done she had stopped crying, we prayed, I turned on her lullaby, and she fell fast asleep.

Jesus loves me, this I know for the Bible tells me so.
Little ones to him belong, they are weak, but He is strong.
Yes, Jesus loves me! Yes, Jesus loves me!
Yes, Jesus loves me! The Bible tells me so.

One thought on “Jesus Loves Me

Leave a Reply

