Hope (Grace Notes Issue 2.16)


Originally Written for 2/7/10

Cross Posted on Grace Notes

This has been a particularly interesting week.   Between my principal and myself we both spent a lot of time out of the office at meetings and off campus, which always makes for a hard time because we get behind and end up doing extra work while the other person is out of the building.  There were several nights I just didn’t sleep very well, and then on Thursday night Melissa came down with some kind of stomach bug; finally, on Friday one of my brothers from Chicago came in for a brief visit so we got to spend time with him Friday and Saturday.

In short, the week seemed busy and, at times, out of control.  I spent yesterday getting caught up around the house a little bit, Melissa is getting caught up with groceries, and tomorrow is Monday so we start it all over again.

Yet in the midst of the craziness (and I know my week was tame compared to some in the choir) it’s important to find a sense of balance and strength, a time to refresh, refocus, and be renewed.  For me, Sunday worship can often fill that purpose.  While we sang I Cannot Tell this morning as a congregation I literally had goose bumps on my arms as I contemplated the words.  The song expressed our hope and confidence in what Christ has accomplished in our world and our lives, as well as what he will accomplish in the future.

I hope that you consider the words you sing on Sunday mornings, both in the choir anthems and the congregational songs.  There is always a tension in music circles over which is more important – the words or the music.  I tend to fall more on the words side of the equation, but this morning’s song was a perfect example of how wonderful words partner with extraordinary music to create a powerful experience for the singer.  As we look at new music in the coming months (both for the choir and for the congregation), I hope you will meditate on and seriously consider the words both as you sing and after the service.  They are chosen for a specific purpose each Sunday, and that is often found within the verses of the songs.  Look at how they can uplift, encourage, challenge, and even teach us as we walk with our Master

Leave a Reply

